Buhusan Festival: How we celebrate Easter Sundays in Lucban, Quezon.

Pahiyas isn’t the only festival in Lucban!

When you say Lucban, Quezon, people instantly think of one thing, and one thing only: Pahiyas Festival. But, since I’m a Lucbanin myself, I’ll let you in on a little secret: Pahiyas isn’t the only festival in Lucban.

Before you even experience the prestigious Pahiyas Festival in May, first comes this festival, which is celebrated every Easter Sunday (between the last week of March and the first half of April). It’s called Buhusán* Festival. And no, it does not involve Easter eggs nor bunnies; instead, it involves water guns, and swimming parties.

*(Buhusán, from the root word ‘buhos’, which means ‘to pour water’)

During my childhood, when plastic had a place in Lucban (There’s a strict no-plastic ordinance in Lucban for many years now), I would always prepare a lot of clear plastic bags, fill them with water (sometimes mixed with food coloring just for color variety), tie them up, and bring them with me in my backpack as I roam around the neighborhood. I would gather my friends, and together, we would challenge other kids into a water balloon fight. If they’re cool enough, we’ll invite them over to join us in our inflatable pool!

Here are two of my cousins enjoying Buhusan the ‘pambata’ way.

Buhusaya, Lucban!

As I grew up, made some more friends, and learned about street parties, I realized that Buhusán could be more than just water balloon fights and pool parties within the neighborhood.

I and my friends would walk around town, picking up other friends, one by one. The thing is, if you walk along the streets of Lucban during the Easter, there’s a hundred percent chance that everybody you’ll meet will try to get you wet in any way possible: by pouring ice-cold water onto your head, pulling you into an inflatable pool, sprinkling you with a garden hose, or all of the above. All of those without having to know one another (If you’re in Lucban during the Easter, it means you’ve signed yourself up for these!) And that’s actually what makes it way more enjoyable: suddenly, you’re friends with everybody and you can easily pour water onto a stranger’s head without getting into a fight—they might even offer you a shot of rum if you’re lucky (and of legal age, of course)!

Warning: if you’re from somewhere and just passing by Lucban during the Easter, it would be better if you shut your windows down if you don’t want people to offer you drinks. Bring some extra clothes, too, just in case. Hahaha!

Buhusán Music Festival (+ 2017 Buhusan Pictures)

Just a few years ago, the municipality of Lucban has officially recognized Buhusán as a festival. That only meant one thing: an even crazier street party! Floats parading around town, government officials roaming around giving and receiving drinks, town-wide foam parties, and a music festival with Ace Ramos and Marc Marasigan headlining as DJs!

Here’s a video by Mardio Nadera posted on Everything Quezon‘s Facebook page.

***

For this year, I celebrated Buhusán with two of my favorite groups of people: APTE and my UP Banahaw orgmates. It’s been so long since I last partied with either of them, having my APTE friends all busy working and my UP Banahaw friends studying.

With APTE
17951478_1475593332460554_8329466070533871879_n.jpg
‘Long time, no see’ with these guys! (c) Archibald Capila
With UP Banahaw
17903504_1669344303081385_8623618655013693512_n
Welcome to Lucban…and to our house, UP Banahaw!

I love them both! See you next Buhusán Festival!

2 thoughts on “Buhusan Festival: How we celebrate Easter Sundays in Lucban, Quezon.

Add yours

  1. Ngayon ko lang narinig angfestival na to. And you’re quite right, first thing that comes off my mind pag sinabing Lucban is Pahiyas festival which I’ve been to myself two years back. Ang saya lang kaso wala ako kakilala. Solo flight ganun. This Buhusan seems fun though.

    PS: Lucbanin pala tawag sa mga taga Lucban.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, Red Hoodie. It’s not as popular as Pahiyas yet, but I think it’s slowly catching up. Haha. Few years ago lang kasi s’ya na-‘recognize’ as festival kaya sa mga locals and neighboring towns pa lang s’ya popular but it’s definitely fun—best way to end the Holy Week before going back to work/school. Haha.

      Like

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

